are sour patch kids vegan

Are Sour Patch Kids Vegan? Gummy Candies You Can Eat Safely!

Click to rate this post!
[Total: 1 Average: 5]

Gummy candies! Yummm! Most of us have grown up munching on these gooey treats and they are just as popular today amongst young and old alike. But the question is are these colorful candies vegan? Are the Sour Patch Kids vegan?

Unfortunately, most treats and gummy candies available in the market contain animal or animal-derived products and additives. This makes them unfit for vegan consumption. Gelatin, a thickening agent comes from animal skin and bones. Shellac, a resin is obtained from the lac bug. Beeswax is secreted by honeybees to make their hives. Carmine, a coloring agent comes from a beetle that is crushed to make red food color. That’s right, you’ll have to study the labels and ingredient list carefully before buying the candies if you’re a vegan. It might contain some potential additives derived from animal origin.

The good news is many manufacturers have started producing a vegan version of these gummies. If you have recently turned vegan, you may have several questions like are pop tarts vegan, are Skittles vegan, are Sour Patch Kids vegan, is lactic acid vegan, and so on.

If you have a sour tooth, the Sour Patch Kids might be your favorite sweet. But if you’re a vegan can you still enjoy this delicacy?  We are here to help you find an answer about what you’re indulging the next time when your taste buds crave for that sour taste.

Sour Patch Kids – The Chewy And Sour Gummy Candy

The Sour Patch Kids is a famous label of chewy treats. Its tangy taste is what makes it irresistible for most of us. These sour candies are available in a myriad of colorful fruity flavors – tropical, lime, oranges, mango, watermelon, berries, and original to name a few. All these flavors are loved by people across the globe.

They are one of the favorite munchies in movies and are known for their amazing chewy texture and sweet and sour taste. The sweet and sour taste is attributed to the sugar coat produced with citric acid and tartaric acid.

The Sour Patch Kids have originated from Canada, in the late 70s, and they have become popular in all parts of the world to this day. Even in times of modern eating and varied healthy diets, this candy remains our favorite. Many sweets and desserts available in the market have a topping made from these savory treats.

Now, relating to our question, ‘Are Sour Patch Kids vegan?’ Let’s look at what are our favorite candies made up of to decide whether is safe to eat if you’re following veganism.

Sour Patch Kids Ingredients

Every food-based company is socially responsible to list all the ingredients used in the composition of their products on the labels. They also clearly mention a clear sign when it comes to vegan, kosher or gluten-free products or other specifics.

Now the first thing that crosses your mind is – does this candy contain any animal product?

To help determine the answer to this common doubt circulating the social web we study the ingredients of the Sour Kids Patch below:

  • Sugar
  • Invert sugar
  • Corn syrup
  • Modified corn starch
  • Tartaric acid
  • Citric acid
  • Natural and artificial flavors
  • Coloring agents: Titanium dioxide, Red 40, Yellow 5, and Blue 1
sour patch kids ingredients

The above ingredient list makes it clear that the Sour Patch Kids uses corn starch as a thickening agent. The candy is devoid of any gelatin (animal-derived gelling agent). The soft and chewy candies – the Original flavor or the other variants – available in the market don’t contain anything non-vegan.

The names, citric acid, and tartaric acid might appear new to many individuals. Let’s look at what they are and what is their source.

Citric acid is a natural flavoring agent that is found in lime or pineapple. Tartaric acid is also a plant-based, organic, natural acid which gives the tangy taste to the gummy candies. Both these natural ingredients are extensively used in the food industry, and they are not harming your vegan lifestyle and diet.

What Replaces Gelatin In The Sour Patch Kids?

The basic ingredients on the pack give us a fair idea that it contains all non-vegan components. Now, let’s look at the vegan replacement for the binding agent of these chewy treats. This further clears our doubts about Sour Patch Kids having gelatin. Corn start is a bonding substance that brings together the ingredients in these candies.  Thus, they are safe to be relished by all vegans.

Are Sour Patch Kids Vegan?

Now, we are aware that Sour Patch Kids candies are free from gelatin and other animal products. The flavoring agents are also natural, it means that there is no involvement of animal source.

However, some people claim problems with sugar and colorants (its production not being vegan). This is the problem!

Sour Patch Kids Sugar

Most of us are unaware that sugar isn’t always categorized as a vegan. This is simply because sugar is refined using charred cattle bones. Since sugar is the major component of Sour Patch Kids it doesn’t get a thumbs up for vegans.

Artificial Colors

The titanium dioxide, yellow 5, red 40, blue 1 are colors added to get the bright colors for the candies. Attractive, as they look! According to studies, these substances are derivatives of petroleum or coal. These undergo animal testing on mice and dogs. So, they aren’t cruelty-free and cannot be termed as a vegan.

Having said all of this – the Sour Patch Kids are suitable for vegans (not ones on a very strict diet). But once again there is no guarantee that you are not eating any hidden non-vegan components or the product itself was prepared using cruel measures.

sour patch kids 1

Other Vegan Gummies To Relish

Most of us (both young and adults) love to indulge in the chewy, gooey gummy snacks. Have you dared to eat them after having turned vegan? Here are some delectable vegan gummy candies (non-gelatin versions) to savor your taste buds.

Check them out:

  • Sour Patch Kids (Of course!)
  • Dandies Vegan Marshmallows
  • Skittles
  • Simply Delish Jel Dessert
  • Swedish Fish
  • Swedish Berries
  • Fuzzy Peach
  • Realfruit candies
  • Gin Gins
  • Squish
  • Trujoy Sweets
  • And the list goes on…

Can’t wait to grab your pack of gummy candy?

Swedish fish

Are Sour Patch Kids safe for vegan consumption? I hope you’re convinced they are!

Then what are you waiting for? Rush to your nearest grocery and snack up!

Share your thoughts with us in the comment box.

Also read: Are Starburst Vegan? Find Out The Hidden Truth

Are Smarties Vegan? Vegan Analysis For Colorful Candies

Frequently Asked Questions

Do Sour Patch Kids have gelatin?

Unlike many other gummy treats, Sour Patch Kids do not contain gelatin (made from skin, bones, and cartilages of cows and pigs.) Thus, any sweet from Sour Patch range is go-to-go for vegans.

What is gelatin made out of?

Gelatin is a yellowish, odorless, and nearly tasteless substance made by continuous boiling of skin, cartilage, and bones from animals like bovine and cattle. Gelatin is made primarily processed from the stuff left over from the meat industries — we’re talking about pork skins, horns, and cattle bones.

Is there a vegan substitute for gelatin?

The most common plant-based alternative to gelatin is agar agar. Agar agar is a flavorless thickening obtained from a seaweed found in Japan. It is sold in the form of powder and flakes. This plant-based thickener is a 1-to-1 replacement for gelatin in most the vegan or vegetarian recipes.

Is chewing gum vegan?

Majority of the sticky gums are vegan-friendly. However, there are exeptions like Polar Ice flavor. It contains gelatin-coated flavors making it unfir for vegan consumption. The best idea is to check the labels before you buy any treats.

Tags: , ,
Previous Post
vegan drink recipes
Vegan Recipes

6 Refreshing Vegan Drink Recipes You Must Try This Summer

Next Post
is almond milk gluten free
Vegan Food

Is Almond Milk Gluten Free? Health Food For Gluten-Sensitive Community

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Vegan Recipes For Beginners

Download 50+ Vegan Recipes absolutely FREE !!!

(Offer For Limited Time)